There Goes the Neighborhood

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,    
And sorry I could not travel both    
And be one traveler, long I stood    
And looked down one as far as I could    
To where it bent in the undergrowth;           
 
Then took the other, as just as fair,    
And having perhaps the better claim,    
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;    
Though as for that the passing there    
Had worn them really about the same,           
 
And both that morning equally lay    
In leaves no step had trodden black.    
Oh, I kept the first for another day!    
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,    
I doubted if I should ever come back.           
 
I shall be telling this with a sigh    
Somewhere ages and ages hence:    
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—    
I took the one less traveled by,    
And that has made all the difference.

-“The Road Not Taken,” Robert Frost

 

For the last several months, I have been unable to write. Sure, the words would dribble out like blood from a stuck wound, but to get them out was just as painful and, like most small wounds, would dry up as fast as ink on a page. I felt stuttered and stagnant, the words fallow in my breast. I just couldn’t write and felt nothing for what came from my fingertips.

And then I decided to start over, to begin anew with my spiritual blogging experiments. My old blog, The Crossroads Forest nee The Crow and the Hound, is complete. It has done what it needed to and although I will no longer be writing there, I will bring over a few posts that I feel the need to keep, to hold onto. It will remain where it is, untouched, for it has done what it needed. There will be no going away post, either, for personal reasons.

I thought for awhile on what options I had available to me: I could continue to blog there and leave lackluster posts; I could stop writing altogether; or I could start over. As you can see, I opted for option C.

My reasons are my own, but in sum, I no longer felt attached to my old blog. As I said, it had done what it needed to and I needed to close the book at that particular chapter. Here, I am free to expand and grow past the constraints that I had originally set myself. It’s a fresh page, unstained and unblemished by hand or ink, one that I can begin to sketch my life upon once again.

So much has changed. I have changed. I am no longer the shell of a person nor the feeble shade I was a year ago. I have grown, stronger and more able in mind and body, and I wish to reflect that. My path has shattered, too. I am rebuilding in so many ways that I cannot return to what I had before. Everything is different, and I will share that journey as time passes. But I am still learning, still coming to terms, still realizing what is to come and how far I have gotten, in life, in mind, in body.

Leave a Reply

